Ukrainian Wine Industry Overview

Wine industry includes all activities associated with the production and processing of grapes, namely the cultivation of grapes technical grades, intended for industrial processing; primary winemaking (the production of wine from grapes); secondary winemaking (processing of wine in the wine).

grape Production in our country is concentrated in regions such as Crimea, Odesa, Kherson, Mykolayiv and Transcarpathian region. The cultivation of this crop are specialized agricultural enterprises. Often they are closely integrated with the primary winemaking factories, because to process the grapes makes sense only in the area of its cultivation.

Many of the primary winemaking in the last decade began to independently develop the wine (from the point of view of economic science, this process is called direct vertical integration). The wine for the most part are produced from such grapes as Rkatsiteli, Aligote, Sauvignon green, Cabernet Sauvignon, Feteasca white, Riesling, Suholimansky white, Bastardo, Merlot, Kokur white, black Odessa, Traminer rose, Saperavi, Chardonnay, varieties of groups Isabella, Muscat, Pinot. Wine industry of Ukraine is represented by enterprises of primary and secondary winemaking. The region has registered more than 400 manufacturers. Enterprise primary winemaking produce the above-mentioned wine for the so-called “quiet” wines (without carbon dioxide), champagne and cognac wine materials. Accordingly, the company winemaking buy and transform them into wine – product, obtained by alcoholic fermentation of the juice or pulp (the pulp of grapes with seeds and rind), fresh or dried (not more than 40% sugar content) of grapes. In addition to wine, they are also in considerable quantities need different support materials: glass containers, domestic polymer and imported cork stoppers, labels, etc..

the wines of Ukrainian production is increasing each year. Manufacturers develop and begin to market the exclusive products that have been associated in the consumer’s mind exclusively with a particular company.

the Largest share (95-97%) of wine, which is sold on the market, accounted for table wine, and only 3-5% on vintage. A large portion of sales (over 60%) to provide a strong and sweet wines. It’s the love of the domestic consumer to strong and sweet drinks is its characteristic feature. In Western Europe favorites are dry wines with low sugar content.

production of grape wines in Ukraine exceeds 7 million dal. In value terms this is equivalent to $8.5 million 30% of the specified volume are dry wines and 70% on strong.

Exported from Ukraine not more than 1 million liters of wine. More than half of this volume is in Russian Federation.

According to the results of the first quarter of 2005 the main countries-importers of wines in Ukraine are Moldova and Georgia, which accounted for 74% of total imports, but perfect leader is still Moldavia, ahead of its nearest rival Georgia on 12%.

Обзор винной индустрии

Винодельческая промышленность включает все виды деятельности, связанные с производством и переработкой винограда, а именно выращивание винограда технических сортов, предназначенных для промышленной переработки; первичное виноделие (производство виноматериалов из винограда); вторичное виноделие (переработка виноматериалов в вино).

Производство винограда в нашей стране сосредоточенно в таких регионах, как АР Крым, Одесская, Херсонская, Николаевская и Закарпатская области. Выращиванием этой культуры занимаются специализированные сельскохозяйственные предприятия. Часто они тесно интегрированы с заводами первичного виноделия, поскольку перерабатывать виноград имеет смысл только в зоне его выращивания.

Много предприятий первичного виноделия в последнее десятилетие начали самостоятельно вырабатывать вино (с точки зрения экономической науки, этот процесс называется прямой вертикальной интеграцией). Виноматериалы большей частью вырабатываются из таких сортов винограда, как Ркацители, Алиготе, Совиньйон зеленый, Каберне-Совиньйон, Фетяска белая, Рислинг рейнский, Сухолиманський белый, Бастардо магарачский, Мерло, Кокур белый, Одесский черный, Траминер розовый, Саперави, Шардоне, сортов групп Изабелла, Мускат, Пино. Винодельческая промышленность Украины представлена предприятиями первичного и вторичного виноделия. Всего в области зарегистрированы свыше 400 предприятий-производителей. Предприятия первичного виноделия вырабатывают упомянутые выше виноматериалы для так называемых “тихих” вин (без углекислого газа), шампанские и коньячные виноматериалы. Соответственно, предприятия вторичного виноделия закупают и перерабатывают их в вино — продукт, полученный благодаря спиртовому брожению сока или мезги (мякоть винограда с косточками и кожицей) свежего или вяленного (не более чем до 40% сахаристости) винограда. Кроме виноматериалов, они также в немалых количествах нуждаются в разных вспомогательных материалах: стеклянной таре, отечественных полимерных и импортных пробковых пробках, этикетках и т.п..

Ассортимент вин украинского производства каждый год расширяется. Производители разрабатывают и начинают продвигать на рынок эксклюзивные продукты, которые бы ассоциировались в сознании потребителя исключительно с определенным предприятием.

Наибольшая доля (95-97%) вина, которая реализуется на рынке, приходится на ординарные вина, и лишь 3-5% — на марочные. Большую часть объема продаж (свыше 60%) обеспечивают крепкие и десертные вина. Именно любовь отечественного потребителя к крепким и сладким напиткам есть его характерной особенностью. В странах Западной Европы фаворитами являются сухие вина с низким содержимым сахара.

Объем производства виноградных вин в Украине превышает 7 млн. дал. В стоимостном выражении это эквивалентно $8,5 млн. 30% указанного объема приходится на сухие вина и 70% — на крепкие.

Экспортируется из Украины не больше 1 млн. дал вина. Больше половины этого объема приходится на Российскую Федерацию.

По результатам первого квартала 2005 года основными странами-импортерами вин в Украину являются Молдавия и Грузия, на долю которых приходится 74% всего импорта, но безупречным лидером все же остается Молдавия, опережая своего ближайшего конкурента Грузию на 12%.